Paying it Forward. . . The Next Big Thing Blog Hop!

BookCoverPreview 1 and 2Well I am incredibly honored to be tagged among such wonderful writers as M.J. Kane, Nia Forrester , Delaney Diamond and Candace Shaw.  This is just one example of the great community I’ve come to be a part of because of the kindness and support offered on Facebook. So without further ado, I will jump  into my 10 questions.

What is the working title of your book?

The working title is Redemptive Acts Part II.

Where did the idea of the book come from?

This is actually the second part to my story Redemptive Acts. I’m not sure how it entered my stream of consciousness.  It may have done so during the heavily debated rape issue that saturated the news over the summer.  But some parts of the story about this young vulnerable woman  is, sans the rape scenario, loosely based on my mom and myself.  She was often thrust on relatives growing up when her relationship with my grandmother dissolved.  That cycle was repeated and passed down to me, when I was left to live for the first six years of my life with my great grandmother.  These things just naturally became woven in the story when I thought of this fearless young woman who overcame much, but with one choice, had everything she worked for seemingly lost to her.  With the fallout from that evening, I wanted to challenge her faith, trust and  perhaps too idealistic view of life.

What is the genre of this book?

I consider it primarily romance with an inspirational twist.

Which actors would you choose to play the characters of the movie rendition?

For this, I am not sure.  Even the people that I chose for my cover are just a semblance to who came to life in my mind, but here goes:

Las Alonzo for Tyrone &  Jonathan        Vanessa Bayden for Cherise                           Ruby Dee for Miriam

thCAQMI9PE                                       vanessa                ruby

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

The journey of a young woman overcoming adversity through faith and an untimely gesture of love from the least expected person in the world.

How long did it take for you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

I am actually completing the last few scenes in the story as we speak.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I’ve actually never read a story similar to this particular one of mine.  But I have many writers that kept my love of romance alive to thank for me eventually finding my own voice.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I am a firm believer in second chances, in life, in love, in marriage, in faith.  I have experienced the beauty of this, and feel inspired to convey to my readers there is always hope and an opportunity for a do-over in life.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

It might pique their interest to know that Cherise isn’t the only person within the story in need of redemptive acts.

So that does it for me.  Thanks for tagging me Nia!  I would like to tag Christopher Bynum and Victoria Wells!

8 thoughts on “Paying it Forward. . . The Next Big Thing Blog Hop!

  1. Pingback: Paying it Forward. . . The Next Big Thing Blog Hop! « Nikki's Book Chats

Share your thoughts

