Darryl Frierson a.k.a. Diggame is in my Chat Chair!

Tagline: “A Normal Brother On The Road To Extraordinary Things”

diggame2Today, I have Darryl Frierson  a.k.a. Diggame in my Chat Chair.  He uses the following epithets in description of himself: Award Winning Writer-Best Culture Blog, Philosopher, Sports Junkie, Podcaster @straightolc, Social Critic, Promoter, & champion of progressive thought. Wow! That’s a mouthful! If you’ve read his blog you will certainly agree! Well, relax and get ready to learn a little bit about Mr. Frierson!

Who is Darryl Frierson?  What are your passions outside of writing?

I am the writer of From Ashy to Classy.  I am passionate about furthering the thought process of people through my comedy and hip hop podcast Straight Outta LoCash with comedian Jovan Bibbs and DJ Reminse.

Where are you from?

St. Louis, MO

Tell me about life growing up. How does it affect your writing?

My life growing up was combination of films “The Wood” and “Fight Club”. It affects my writing because I am a person who came from humble beginnings but understands that I have a lot of growing to do as a person and writer, hence the reason I named my blog From Ashy to Classy.

 When did you know you were a writer?

I knew I was a writer in college when I wrote for the school paper and received a great response from people about the tone of my writing.

What motivates you to write?

I would say what motivates me to write is conveying a message that can make people think, laugh, and inform them. Writing is more about conveying a message to people that may be able to balance their thoughts or want more out of life.

 How much of what you write is based on personal experiences?

I would say 100% of my writing is based on  my personal experiences or the way I look at the world around me.Diggame

What is your research process when preparing a post?

Usually a post comes  to me from random things. I can hear a quote, news story, a song lyric, or watch a movie and a post may jump out at me.

What genre do you read? What authors do you admire?

I am more of a non-fiction reader but dabble in fiction here and there. I really dig JD Sallinger, Robert Greene, J. Krishnamurti, Alex Haley, George Nelson, and Walter Dean Myers.

What advice would you give others about writing & in general?

I would say stay constantly work on your craft. Things may not seem clear, but keep believing in what you have to write about. The constituency will get you into a mode where writing will become a part of your life where you can’t breathe without writing.

What would you like people to know that they might not know already?

I would say that I live my life about balance in a yin and yang template and try to be as authentic about who I am in my writing.

Thanks so much for dropping by and allowing us to get to know you a bit! We will keep tuning into your blogs! It has been privilege to have you in my Chat Chair! 

Please continue to follow Daryl on his Twitter  @diggame and his Facebook page, and of course, his blog, From Ashy to Classy.

 

 

Share your thoughts

