Deidra D.S. Green is in my Chat Chair!

  deidra green

Frequently heard saying: ‘Writing is like breathing. Without it, I’d die…’

Today I am interviewing Deidre D. S. Green, is in my chat chair.  She is author of The Twisted Sister SeriesThe Suddenly Single Series, some novels and novellas and some children’s stories, her latest release is Interstate 64. This story actually comes with the disclaimer: WARNING! THIS STORY IS NOT FOR THE FAINT OF HEART! EXPLICIT CONTENT!

interstate 64

Description:

His name is Tom, just Tom. After a tumultuous childhood of ill begotten love and psychological torment, Tom decides it’s time to leave his past behind and make a new life for himself. He strikes out on his own, taking to the roadways, leaving death and destruction in his wake with remnants of his previous life haunting him at every turn. The interstate will never be the same. Are serial killers born or bred? Find out in Interstate 64.

In addition to that she is a “highly sought after as a lecturer, educator, and presenter. Her command of the podium, extensive knowledge base, and ability to effectively communicate, has both informed and captivated audiences. They leave challenged, inspired, and wanting more.”  Anyone that knows even a little about this author can see that her tagline is accurate, her pen is on fire.

She also just released her psychological thriller, Sick, Sicker, Sickest the first installment of The Chloe Daniels Mysteries:sick

 Description:

Hush little baby, don’t say a word…

For years, Anna Black was the only child and the apple of her parents’ eyes. When baby sister, Angel, comes along, Anna’s life is quickly turned upside down. Anna will stop at nothing to win back her parents’ affection. When her tactics lose their efficacy, Anna’s desperate cries for help morph into something more sinister. Can anyone stop this angel of mercy? Find out in Sick, Sicker, Sickest… A Chloe Daniels Mystery…

If you aren’t familiar with her books, click on the covers, they are Amazon linked.  You can also find her books on Barnes & Noble  and Smashwords.  

twisted1572548866108114984697842009200378_orig41fXxhtA8eL._SY346_PJlook-inside-v2,TopRight,1,0_SH20_51BFQLpHArL._SY346_PJlook-inside-v2,TopRight,1,0_SH20_41Ii46B+W-L._SY346_PJlook-inside-v2,TopRight,1,0_SH20_deidra ds green suddenly single

Mind you these are just a few of her works!  But I needed room for the interview! So grab a beverage and let’s get into it!

Who is Deidra?

That is an excellent question. I continue to evolve every day and learn new things about myself all the time. Although most people think I am an extrovert, I am really rather introverted. I am a definite home body and love spending time with my two children VcToryann C’Mone and Kamerron De’Athony Alexander. My passions outside of writing would have to include music, classical, gospel and old school r&b. I am a purse and shoe-aholic and love interior decorating.

Where are you from?

I’m originally from E. St. Louis, IL and currently reside in Atlanta Georgia

Tell me about life growing up. How does it affect your writing?

I had a wonderful childhood, surrounded by extended family members. I matriculated through both private and public schools and my family traveled all summer every summer when I was young. We had great experiences on the road and I had to expand my horizons intellectually and culturally during those excursions. I think because we explored so much as a family, my thinking is not boxed in to where I was raised and the environment in which I grew up despite how wonderful it was. Thinking outside the box and exploring new avenues to write in is how growing up has impacted my writing.

When did you know you were a writer?

I wrote for myself for many years but it wasn’t until my brother spoke life to my gift a few years ago that I considered writing for someone other than myself.

What motivates you to write?

I am fascinated by the power of the written word. I like language and verbal expression. I love to bend a phrase and to impact emotionality with the words that are expressed. I like to conjure up visions from what has been scrolled across the page. That keeps me coming back to pen and paper to push myself to create. Reader response is also a huge motivator for me. The inboxes, emails, comments, reviews all give me strength when I’m in the writing process. It’s like fuel, you know?

How much of what you write is based on personal experiences?

A lot of what I write is pure imagination. I can hear or see something, even a single word or a small phrase and that will affect a whole storyline. My previous life as a social worker I think has impacted some of the stories that I tell; bearing witness to interesting and often chaotic family dynamics does offer a whole host of story ideas. I think some of me makes it into every story but not necessarily from personal experience.

What is your research process when preparing a post?

I tend to lean toward the positive and the humorous when posting. Because I love music, quite often I will start my post with lyrics from a song that have special meaning for me. I will research the lyrics to make sure I am quoting them accurately.

What genre do you read? What authors do you admire?

I love to read true crime stories, mysteries, high stakes drama and suspense. I admire Stephen King (anybody who knows me or has ever peeked at my bookshelf knows that). He has an incredible work ethic and is a prolific writer. He is always telling great stories and has a real passion for the work. Yep, he is my literary hero!

What advice would you give others about writing & in general?

As far as advice goes, I would say, be true to your authentic self. Don’t follow trends or mimic what someone else is doing. Be the writer that you were meant to be and the fruits of your labor will come from that.

What would you like people to know that they might not know already?

I am approachable, I am always stretching and learning, and I am to always deliver a thought provoking story.

Thanks so much Nikki for having me!

Yes, you are approachable! (smile) It is my privilege to have you in my Chat Chair. Thanks so much for dropping by and allowing us to get to know you a bit! 

Please continue to follow Deidra D.S. Green at her Twitter address: @DeidraG, her website, Deidra Writes, her FacebookGoodreads and Amazon pages.

 

3 thoughts on “Deidra D.S. Green is in my Chat Chair!

  1. Hi Ms. Nikki and Ms.Diedra,

    This was a great interview. Ms. Diedra, you are another one of my favorite authors. I truely enjoy your novels too. I have purchased many of your novels. I am reading the Twisted Sisters series right now. I enjoy good authors and you and Ms. Nikki are among them. Have a good weekend and God bless both of you.

Share your thoughts

