Hannah Spivey WAS in my Chat Chair!

hannah spivey face picToday I am interviewing Hannah Spivey. If you are not familiar with her work, please click on the covers below; they are Amazon linked.  So grab a seat and relax while we learn more about Ms. Spivey!

hannah spivey my sherryamothannahspivey paybackhannah spivey lloyd tubehannah spivey whooty cashspivey front

Hi Hannah, tell us something about you.

I have always been an imaginative since middle school. I was introverted as a young girl and experienced bullying from my peers.  I found comfort in being able to escape through my writing. My parents raised me in South Florida, and I have one sister. I obtained my Associate’s degree in Business Administration and today, I am a ghost and freelance writer, as well as a strong advocate against domestic violence.

What made you advocate against domestic violence?

Although I’ve never been physically abused, I was verbally abused as a kid.  I’ve tackled  loving and accepting myself. Writing a book gives me a voice and it also allows me to be a voice for those who have been abused or are still being abused, and are afraid to talk about their tumultuous experiences. I am much more expressive through my writing. Writing a book is a way for me to be free with no constraint and paint a picture for the readers.

It’s very courageous of you to have found a platform to help others. You told us you grew up in South Florida, where do you live now? 

I live in Atlanta.

How was life growing up? How does it affect your writing?

Life had its’ ups and downs. I was a sheltered child. I believe I’ve always been a writer because I’ve always had a way with words and creativity. Writing was an escape route for me to take a walk on the wild side with my imagination and it still is. I started a journal when I was 24. I did things pretty late in life. My writing career spawned from a writing a journal and being inspired by other writers along with having a head full of untamed story ideas. I never planned to write a book when I was kid, but I did enjoy reading. Life is funny, isn’t it? Lol!

What motivates you to write?

Life, other writers, and my strange imagination.

How much of what you write is based on personal experiences?

I’m not sure but I just know some of it is based loosely on some of my personal experiences.

Share with us your writing process.

I don’t have one. I write whenever I feel like it, and when I do I listen to music.

You also work on the flip side of writing—the part that a lot of writers dread, but view as a necessary evil. What fuels your
passion for the marketing, publishing side?

Well, I enjoy marketing and promoting my book because prior to finding a publisher, I saw into the future. I didn’t see myself as “Just another author” and I still don’t. It’s not easy, of course. But marketing and promoting my book has helped increase my book sales as well as my relevance in the literary business, and I will not stop until my book reaches its full potential. I mean, this book has been compared to Precious when the protagonist in my novel “Ebony the Beloved” has been through far more hell than Precious can shake a stick at.

I’ve been able to do so many internet radio interviews that I’d run out of fingers and toes counting how many interviews I’ve done about my book, lol.  It is insane. “Ebony the Beloved” is my pride and joy; not because it is my first published book, but because it’s not like any other urban lit/contemporary book. It will piss you off, sadden you, and make you laugh.

That’s why I promote and market this book the way I do because I know it will do very well one day and it’s going to touch the lives of many people. It deals with domestic violence, child abuse, and bullying all together.  And I know many people will easily gravitate to it, especially if they’ve been abused by a significant other, parent, guardian, or sibling(s).

What genre do you read? What authors do you admire?

Contemporary fiction. I admire  Mary Monroe, Lashonda Devaughn, Tamika New house, Tracy Brown, and Kimberla Lawson Roby.

What advice would you give others about writing & in general?

I would tell them to keep honing their writing skills and read books to help hone their writing skills.

What would you like people to know that they might not know already?  

Be wary of shady publishers, editors, graphic designers, and literary agents out there because most of them are greedy vultures. They only care about getting your money and throwing you to the lions. Do your homework and background check on anyone you want to work unless  you already know them. And even that doesn’t work all the time. Two words– be careful.

Finally, tell us what  you are working on and when can we expect a release?

I am working on my second novel called “The Bold and the Ugly Truth” hopefully it will be out in the summer.  I am very excited.

Can you tell us a little bit about “The Bold and the Ugly Truth”?

The Bold and the Ugly Truth” is about a rich and famous Televangelist who starts to question his Christianity. When he learns he’s a Hebrew Israelite, he begins trashing Christianity and attacking other notable televangelists.  This book is really going to step on a lot of toes, especially the televangelists who many of us are familiar with.

bosslady hannah spivey
Wow! Sounds explosive!    Thanks so much for dropping by  and helping us to get to know you a bit! It has been an honor to have you in my Chat Chair! 

Please continue to follow Hannah at her email: Bossladywriter@gmail.com, on Twitteror her Facebook, & Amazon page

3 thoughts on “Hannah Spivey WAS in my Chat Chair!

  1. Hi Nikki,

    When can we expect Segment 17…..I’m looking forward to the remainder of the story as viewed by the different authors.

    Thanks.

Share your thoughts

