Dominique Wilkins is in my Chat Chair!

Dominique Wilkins face picToday I have Dominique Wilkins a.k.a. Dee Double U, in my chat chair! If you’re not familiar with her body of work, please  feel free to click on the covers below, they are Amazon linked.  You can also find her books on Barnes & Noble and Smashwords.  So grab a beverage and let’s get to know Dominique a little better!

dominique Pen or Disciplinedominique not forgottendominique Friends Firstdominique commanddominique lovesdominique the audacitydominique 13dominique theresa in wonderlanddominique drinkdominique 7 10dominique theres somethingDominique the bad parentdominique lights cameradominique fightdominique love momma

Who is Dominique Wilkins?   What are your passions outside of writing?

I am a married mother of 2 children who writes short stories that everyone can relate to. Real stories about bad parents, jealous neighbors, backstabbing friends, cheating, love, pain and more. The stories are written with biblical messages intermingled in the pages, for the reader to be encouraged and seek change through the pages. We often cannot solve our own problems, but maybe, we can see them in the pages and solve them this way!

Outside of writing, I love to laugh and enjoy good company with either family or like-minded friends.

Where are you from?

I was born and raised on the Southside of Chicago, IL, in the Englewood Area. It was a bad area then and has gotten much worse now, as time as gone on. People are dying by the minute and when the weather warms, they die and are being hurt in droves.

 Tell me about life growing up. How does it affect your writing?

I was the youngest of six children in a household led by a stay-at-home mother and a self-employed carpenter. There were many days, where the money did not spread far enough for 8 people to eat enough or seconds, but we learned how to live with less and depend on each other more. It is from being in this area, where people are impoverished and the morale is the lowest that I see the drama and the lack of care for life and others, which encouraged me to start writing books with a message.

When did you know you were a writer?

I am a licensed cosmetologist and previously worked in a salon for over ten years, until the economy took a turn for the worst, forcing me to find work at a 9-5. After I lost that connection with my customers and ability to encourage them and uplift them from the chair, I decided that the messages and stories still needed to be told. So a friend encouraged me to write them. After one book, God soon blessed me with 15 titles today.

What motivates you to write?

As time goes on and my walk brings me closer to God, I find that he wakes me up and stirs my spirit with a story to motivate or encourage someone on a certain topic  through a particular scenario with Bible verses sprinkled throughout for further reading.

How much of what you write is based on personal experiences?

All of my topics are someone’s experience. They are fictional, because I feel as though, sometimes you have to dramatize an event to get your point across, but the stories all belong to SOMEONE. I may have experienced the feeling as well, because it is the same things that happen in this world, just a different day, just maybe not to the story’s extent.

What is your research process when preparing a story?

OH!! Well, it depends on what the story is about. Sometimes I contact a person who I know has been through the situation and/or I’d use google to research a previous incident played on the news. Sometimes, I go off of my own personal experience and largely on my Bible! 🙂

What genre do you read? What authors do you admire?

I will read ANYTHING that is good, except at this point, I try to watch what I put into my spirit and not read books that make my spirit feel anything other than good.

 What advice would you give others about writing & in general?

Write about what keeps you up at night. Write about what you feel the strongest about, so that you will always have something to write about. At that point, you will always give it your best!

What would you like people to know that they might not know already? 

I don’t write books as if I am better than anyone, so I don’t want anyone to feel that way. I am still learning and working on being a better person as well, so I write simply just to share something that I may have had to learn. I write only to encourage someone to know that whatever they’re going through is not forever. “Trouble doesn’t last always…”

What are you working on now?

dominique im inCurrently, I have a collaboration project that I am hoping to release at the end of August or beginning Sept. 🙂

Blurb:

Communication. Money. Trust. Abuse. Self esteem. Outside Interferences. Setting boundaries. What do they all have in common? Regardless of age, race, or economic status, these issues typically plague all relationships. The difference however, is the manner in which the situations are addressed, and ultimately resolved. Encountered bumps in the road regarding your relationship? How did you handle it? Did you leave or did you stay? Still trying to decide exactly what to do? Your solution may be lurking inside…
 That sounds fascinating! Thanks so much for dropping by Dominique! It has been an honor to have you in my Chat Chair!

Please continue to follow Dominique on: Twitterher website: AuthorDWilkinsGOODbooks.com, and her                        FacebookAmazon & Goodreads pages.                                                                        

6 thoughts on “Dominique Wilkins is in my Chat Chair!

  1. Hi Ms. Nikki and Ms. Dominique,

    I enjoyed this interview very much. It was nice getting to know a little bit more about you Ms. Dominique. I have read some of your novels. I really enjoyed 7:10. I plan to purchase and read more of your novels. Again, great interview Ms. Nikki.

Share your thoughts

