Sofia Harper a.k.a Melissa Blue is in my Chat Chair!

melissa blue

Today, I have Melissa Blue visiting as her alter ego, Sofia Harper. Or is it vice versa?  In any event, I am glad to have Sofia visiting my Chat Chair today.  Sofia Harper began her writing career in 2004, initially writing romantic suspense.  Finding this genre wasn’t her forte, she switched to contemporary romances where she has thrived ever since.  Sophia says, “When she’s not spending time with imaginary people in her head, she’s corrupting two little trouble makers.”   Currently, she lives in California where she says “the wine is good.”  And as many of you may have already noticed, “she’s also going full-throttle on the ride called publishing.”  She recently released, Hot Knight in Paradise (Entangled Indulgence).  The cover is Amazon linked.  Her books can also be found on Barnes & Noble.

Check out the blurb:

melissa blue sophia harper coverStranded in paradise with no way to get home, Leah Smith needs a miracle, and fast. Instead, she gets Marshall Jackson, surely the sexiest man alive. Too bad he’s got an emotional wall around himself–and her only hope of getting off the island … Marshall has a strict no damsels in distress policy, but there’s something about Leah that makes him want to break his own rules. He agrees

to let her work in his bar until she earns enough to get home. But the more time they spend together, the harder it is to deny the scorching attraction between them. Soon hot island nights provide balm to their wounded souls, but will these two flawed exiles make peace with the past in time to claim the future they deserve together–or will paradise be lost?

Excerpt:

“If you’re thirsty, I’ll make you a drink. For you, five bucks for the drink and five for the minimum to get in on the poker game about to start. You’re going to lose it anyway. I’m the reigning champion. You want it on the rocks?”

She glanced around the empty bar. “You need more people than this to play poker.”

“Drinking poker.” He swept his hands in the air. “And if you build it, they will come.”

“Oh,” she said with a hint of sarcasm. “That makes sense.”

Confused, he asked, “What does?”

She twirled her finger around to indicate the bar. “You built this place.”

He scowled at the cheap shot. “You in?”

“Just the drink. Rum and coke. Plenty of rocks, since you don’t serve water.”

Finally, his limbs loosened. The tears portion of the night had ended. Marshall prepped her drink and set up the bar. Not much to do, since the same few stragglers would come in, but it fulfilled him to have this routine instead of the tedious routines of being an attorney. He liked knowing what happened next and to do it without interruption or pitfalls. No one’s life was on the line. The contentment lasted until he turned around again and noticed the woman staring down into her untouched drink.

He would leave her to her melancholy. Her problems weren’t his. She’d tried to bargain with a mugger. She had what it would take to get back home somehow. She didn’t need him, and heaven help anyone who did.

“Sh*t,” he muttered.

Her gaze rose to his, her eyes a little glassy from unshed tears.

“Hmm?”

“You asked for a drink, so drink.” He needed to know she was as tough as she looked. Then he’d be fine. Then he could let go of the urge to care about this woman who had no one to call.

She pursed her lips for a moment. “You’re bossy and I know what you’re doing. Trying to keep me from losing my sh*t.”

“I can be and I’m not doing anything. So drink.” He held her gaze until she picked up the glass in defiance and took a tentative sip. Her breath hissed out, and then she glared at him. He smiled back, and any sadness lurking in the depths of her eyes receded. She took up the challenge and drank deeply.

Intriguing!  Well everyone get comfortable and let’s get to know a little more about Sophia Harper!

Who is Sofia Harper?  What are your passions outside of writing?

One of the main reasons why I became an author is that I love stories. In any form it comes in. Since my writing schedule became insane, I don’t read as much as I used to, but I still need that story fix. So I watch tons of TV. An hour here and there and I can get a full story with fascinating characters.

 Where are you from?

I was born in Texas but it’s safe to say I am a Cali girl.

Tell me about life growing up. How does it affect your writing?

I’m the last child, which makes me the baby of the family, and that means I’m the one who got into trouble but very rarely got into trouble for it. So, I’m opinionated, stubborn. I sometimes suffer from tunnel vision. I tend to write people who are go-getters and rebels.

When did you know you were a writer?

I was nineteen. Up until that point I honestly thought everyone had elaborate daydreams. Most people probably imagine being on a beach sipping Mai Thais. My daydreams involved plots and dialogue.

What motivates you to write?

Characters that have stories they want told. I’ve quit writing before and during that time it was radio silence in my head. I’ve never had that happen before. The stories and characters went quiet because I’d was trying write for all the wrong reasons. Or, better yet my focus while writing had veered away from telling the story.

 How much of what you write is based on personal experiences?

Not a lot. My life is pretty mundane. If I do take from real life, it’s to use emotion—fear, joy, sorrow, etc. At least for me, when I use a personal experience, I’m missing the point or an opportunity to make an connection to the reader. It’s your experience and that makes you biased. Who plays the devil’s advocate? No one, unfortunately. So, I need that distance.

What is your research process when preparing a post?

I do research for my books and for nothing else. Unless, I’m about to open my big mouth with an opinion of some sort. Otherwise…

What genre do you read? What authors do you admire?

Since I write contemporary romances I try to stay away from them in my leisure time. The Internal Editor refuses to shut up unless I’m knee-deep in historical romances, mysteries, urban fictions and a whole slew of other genres. But when I love your contemporary then you’ve got a fan for life. Currently, I’m fangirling Ruthie Knox, Brenda Jackson, Francis Ray, Maisey Yates and Julie James.

What advice would you give others about writing & in general?

Get to know yourself. Everyone talks about the importance of voice, but honestly the only way to discover it is to know thy self. And to skip a few years of angst wishing you wrote like X, accept thy self. You are who you are. Even if opening a word doc is the only safe place you can be yourself, then do it. Your readers and fans will appreciate that.

What would you like people to know that they might not know already?

Oh, this is a tough question. I like to think what you see is what you get from me. So…let’s settle for if you are in a boring meeting I’m the person you want to sit next to. I’ll be the one muttering jokes, but because I am good at what I do I could tell you all the important points. Yes, I was that class clown.

Great advice! I wish you well in all your future endeavors!  Thanks so much for sitting in my Chat Chair!  You can keep up with Sofia on her Twitter, her websiteblogFacebookGoodreads and Amazon Author page!   

Share your thoughts

