Loretta Walls was in my Chat Chair!

loretta walls face picToday I am interviewing Loretta Walls–the woman for whom the expression NuCherte has become synonymous!   Loretta has been writing since the age of thirteen and was inspired after reading Secrets by Danielle Steel. Throughout her teen years, she completed over a dozen books for personal enjoyment.  Her debut novel, Spices of Life was released in 2005.  Did you know she only autographs paperbacks in purple?

Get comfortable and let’s learn a little more about Ms. Walls.   If you are not familiar with her work, please click on the covers below; they are  Amazon linked.

spices of lifeBrittanyfantasy of loverendezvousrendezvous2loretta the majestic dynasty

embue no other love embue searchingembue reckless ardenembue  more than friends

Hi Loretta.  I’m so happy to have you in my Chat Chair!  Tell  us something about you.

My weekday routine consists of me getting up at 4:30 a.m. and working on my publishing business until 6:00 a.m. Most of it ends up being checking emails, inquiries, and then writing. After that, I get my daughter up for school and start my normal part of the day. I work in Customer Service for a bowling company full time and usually devote my lunch hour to writing or adjusting a manuscript, depending on what is needed at that time. On the weekends, I try to sleep in and enjoy connecting on Facebook and other sites to chat with readers and like-minded people in the industry. My family is very understanding about my writing; my husband is very supportive in all that I do.

Where are you from?  Where do you live now?

I’m from Central Islip, New York.  I now live in Richmond, VA.

How was life growing up? How does it affect your writing?

Being that I moved away from my hometown at age 13, writing allowed me the freedom to pour my feelings into the work. I felt that no one would understand where I was in my life (emotionally) at that time, so I used my characters to vent some of the things I couldn’t verbalize. I found that my inner voice was far stronger than speaking, and have been using it ever since. I didn’t find the time to journal as a teen, because the stories kept coming one after another. However, as an adult, I found myself writing more poetry to express my feelings, especially when I was in the military. I am a Veteran and served fifteen years, including a tour in Kuwait.

What a fascinating life!  What motivated you to start Nu Cherte Publishing?

I’d connected to a few publishers and was interested in signing with a particular one. Things just didn’t mesh at the time, making it more of a reason for me to learn about the business. Why should I wait on someone that wasn’t going to handle my work in a timely manner? I was always taught that if you want something done, you need to learn it for yourself. That put the ball in motion for me. The other layer to this was my mother passing away in December of 2005. She was a huge influence in my writing from the start. I took a little time off to reflect on my life with her and decided that if I was going to do this, it would be right. From the name representing my work, to the logo, it had to be stellar. After doing some research on publishing, it slowly started coming together and the day I paid for my business license bearing the name Nu Cherte (pronounced New Share-tay), which means “To Expose At A High Cost”…that made it real.

When did you know you were a writer?

I figured it out after I held my first paperback copy of “Spices of Life”.

I’m sure that was a revelation holding a book you’d written in your hands.

What genre do you write?

Urban Romance and Erotica Romance

What motivates you to write?

Everything! Conversation, observing people and just life in general. There are things we want to express but are too afraid to vocalize them. Writing is my outlet to explore freely.

 What genre do you read?

I read mostly romance novels, but I’m open to anything with a strong synopsis and interesting book cover.

Share with us your writing process.

I must do an outline. Once I have that out the way, it’s music and an open mind to write.

How much of what you write is based on personal experiences?

I’d say 20% of me, the rest is from listening to others. I like sprinkling real life situations into the stories I write.

Love that word ‘sprinkling’. What advice would you give others about writing?

It’s been said before, but I must repeat it: Learn the business! Research what it is you want to do. Expect to invest in your craft.  Nothing is for free; time is essential and there are good people in the industry. Conduct yourself in a professional manner at all times.

What would you like people to know about you that they might not know already?  

I’m always open to suggestions when it comes to a story line. My Embue series has taken off and it’s all because of the readers.  I thank you for that.

Finally, tell us what are you working on and when can we expect a release?

Currently I’m working on two projects, one slated for late summer 2013 and one for Spring 2014. My most recent release is from the
Tiffany Rivera series titled, The Majestic Dynasty.

Well I’m sure I speak for many when I say your projects are greatly anticipated!  Thanks so much for dropping by and giving us the opportunity to get to know you  better! It has been an honor to have you in my Chat Chair! 

Please continue to follow Loretta at her email: nucherte@gmail.com on Twitteron her blog: NuCherte Publishing, her instagram: NCPCEO, Google+, GoodreadsFacebookB &N & Amazon pages

Share your thoughts

